Royal Ascot: Queen Anne Stakes

The Queen Anne Stakes, originally open to horses aged three and older, was established in 1840, and during the early part of its history it was called the Trial Stakes. In 1930, it was renamed in honour of Queen Anne, the founder of Ascot Racecourse. The Queen Anne Stakes was classed as a Group 3 race in 1971, and it was promoted to Group 2 level in 1984. It was given Group 1 status in 2003, and at this point the minimum age of participating horses was raised to four. It is now the first race on the opening day of the Royal Ascot meeting.
Early history:- Queen Victoria was in attendance on Tuesday 16th June 1840 when the opening race, the Trial Stakes, was won by the Duke of Rutland's 4-year-old Flambeau (4/7 fav) ridden by Jem Robinson, beating Barabbas, Camelino and 3 others. Prestonjee Boinanjee (4/1) made the early running until half a mile from home, at which point Flambeau took over and went on to win unextended by an easy 2 lengths, making it back to back wins in 1841.

Trial Plate 1868 Group 1 New Mile
Pos. Horse Jockey Age/weight Owner
1 NEWMINSTER filly Cannon 4-9st 6lbs Lord Annesley 20/1
2 VESPASIAN Custance 5-10st 9lbs Sir C Legard 3/1
3 EMERALD Rowell 2-5st 7lb Mr Porter 25/1
4 BIRDS EYE Wilson 2-5st 7lbs Mr Brayley 10/1
5 ESHER Jeffrey 2-6st 1lb Mr Chaplin 10/1
6 LYMINGTON Daley 3-8st 7lbs Mr E C Clayton 100/7
7 SECRECY Jem Goater 4-9st 1lbs Mr Ruff 25/1
8 VIVIER Eades 3-8st 2lbs Mr I Woolcott 25/1
9 GOODWOOD Parry 4-10st 4lbs Mr Proctor 25/1
10 URSULA G French 2-5st 7lbs Mr George Angell 25/1
11 THE PALMER John Wells 4-10st 4lbs Sir Joseph Hawley 2/1 fav
12 BLACK DIAMOND George Fordham Drewitt 3-8st 2lbs Mr Drewitt 12/1
13 CHARNWOOD Bumby 3-8st 7lbs Lord Stamford 25/1
The Trail Plate, forerunner of the Queen Anne Stakes, over the New Mile, took place on Tuesday 9th June 1868 and the winner, a chestnut filly by Newminster out of Irish Queen, won a first prize of 185 sovereigns from 17 subscribers (equivalent to £21,000 in 2020). Over round 120%
Queen Anne Stakes Group 1 1 mile 1840
1840 1841 1842 1843 1844 1845 1846 1847 1848 1849
1850 1851 1852 1853 1854 1855 1856 1857 1858 1859
1860 1861 1862 1863 1864 1865 1866 1867 1868