Royal Ascot: Queen Anne Stakes

The Queen Anne Stakes, originally open to horses aged three and older, was established in 1840, and during the early part of its history it was called the Trial Stakes. In 1930, it was renamed in honour of Queen Anne, the founder of Ascot Racecourse. The Queen Anne Stakes was classed as a Group 3 race in 1971, and it was promoted to Group 2 level in 1984. It was given Group 1 status in 2003, and at this point the minimum age of participating horses was raised to four. It is now the first race on the opening day of the Royal Ascot meeting.
Early history:- Queen Victoria was in attendance on Tuesday 16th June 1840 when the opening race, the Trial Stakes, was won by the Duke of Rutland's 4-year-old Flambeau (4/7 fav) ridden by Jem Robinson, beating Barabbas, Camelino and 3 others. Prestonjee Boinanjee (4/1) made the early running until half a mile from home, at which point Flambeau took over and went on to win unextended by an easy 2 lengths, making it back to back wins in 1841.

Trial Plate 1869 Group 1 New Mile
Pos. Horse Jockey Age/weight Owner
1 VAGABOND J Adams 3-8st 4lbs Sir Joseph Hawley 2/1 fav
2 FANCY BOY Hunt 2-6st 11lbs Mr Moreton 3/1
3 PERFORMER Hudson Tom Dawson 2-6st 9lb Mr Tom Dawson 6/1
4 CORNET Cannon 4-6st 9lbs Sir F Johnstone 100/8
5 PURVEYOR Goodwin 2-5st 10lb Mr Cave 20/1
6 VEDETTE filly Webb 2-6st 7lbs Mr G Jones 20/1
7 THORMANBY colt Newhouse 2-6st 1lbs Mr J Lowe 20/1
8 RAINBOW Jenkins Henry Woolcott 2-6st 1lbs Mr L Woolcott 20/1
9 PARMESINA Maidment 3-7st 13lbs Mr E Green 20/1
10 WANDERER George Fordham 3-8st 7lbs Colonel Astley 10/1
11 NETHERWOOD Clement 3-8st 2lbs Mr Sydney Smith 20/1
12 VEX brother Mason 2-5st 10lbs Mr G Hodgman 20/1
The Trail Plate, forerunner of the Queen Anne Stakes, over the New Mile, took place on Tuesday 8th June 1869 and the winner, a brown gelding by Musjid out of Vaga, won a first prize of 180 sovereigns from 16 subscribers (equivalent to £22,000 in 2020). Over round 124%
Queen Anne Stakes Group 1 1 mile 1840
1840 1841 1842 1843 1844 1845 1846 1847 1848 1849
1850 1851 1852 1853 1854 1855 1856 1857 1858 1859
1860 1861 1862 1863 1864 1865 1866 1867 1868 1869