Aintree racecourse;Ascot;Ayr;Bangor;Bath;Beverley;Brighton;Carlisle;Cartmel;Catterick;Cheltenham Festival;Chepstow;Chester;Doncaster St Leger;Epsom Derby;Exeter racecourse;Fakenham;Folkestone;Fontwell Park;Glorious Goodwood;Hamilton Park;Haydock Park;Hereford Racecourse;Hexham;Huntingdon;Kelso;Kempton Park;Leicester;Lingfield;Ludlow;Market Rasen;Musselburgh;Newbury Racecourse;Newcastle;Newmarket;Newton Abbot;Nottingham;Perth;Plumpton;Pontefract Racecourse;Redcar;Ripon;Salisbury;Sandown Park;Sedgefield;Southwell;Stratford;Taunton;Thirsk;Towcester;Uttoxeter;Warwick;Wetherby;Wincanton;Windsor;Wolverhampton;Worcester;Yarmouth;York Ebor

The South Australia township of Quorn is located in the Flinders Ranges to the north of the state, some 40 kilometres north-east of Port August. The town was first surveyed by a Leicestershire man, Godfrey Walsh, who visited the area in 1878 and named the township after Quorndon in his native town. Despite only having a population of approximately 1250 to call upon, Quorn has its own successful racecourse which holds one meeting a year administered by the Quorn Jockey Club.

Local Patrons Quorn Jockey Club
Principal Races Quorn Cup, Quorn Handicap

Races were due to be held in 1880 on the anniversary of the Queen’s Birthday, but due to inaction by the Race Committee Secretary they were postponed indefinitely. However, On Monday 20th June 1881, spurred on by the President of the Race Committee Mr Andrew Tennant, the races proved to be very successful, with a special train running from Port Augusta, and a picnic held by the Wesleyans at Mr Dunn’s mill. The feature race was the Quorn Handicap over 2 miles:-
Monday 20th June 1881
Quorn Handicap (£40) over 2 miles

1. Mayfly owned by Mr W Brook
2. Freetrader owned by Mr R Shaw
3. Waxy owned by Mr W T Cowan

By the turn of the Century the principal race was the Quorn Handicap over 1 mile 3 furlongs. Results from the early years of the century are shown below, although a complete set of results is available by request.
Wednesday 4th July 1900
Quorn Handicap (35 sovereigns) over 1 mile 3 furlongs

1. The Sailor owned by Mr A Cherry and ridden by F Hill
2. Prince Alfred owned by Mr H Burgess and ridden by J Read
3. Precaution
July 1901 Quorn Handicap (40 sovereigns) over 1 mile 3 furlongs
1. Phillippa owned by Mr A Morgan and ridden by J Casey
2. The Countess owned by Mr A J Berriman and ridden by C Wilks
3. Paragoona owned by Mr F P Jones and ridden by I Reid
July 1902 Quorn Handicap over 1 mile 3 furlongs
1. Romp owned by Mr J A Kubale
2. Valour owned by Mr H E Cowan
3. Prince John owned by Mr J Leesue

Currently the meeting normally takes place in June, although it was not held in 2015 or 2016, but in 2017 it was held on Saturday 4th September, and the highlight of the meeting is the Quorn Cup over 1900 metres, with a list of recent winners shown below.
Quorn Cup Winners
2009 The Quorn Cup ($5,070) over 1900 metres was won by Mr Controller (7/1) trained by Barry Dunn and ridden by O Ay, beating Scratch ‘N’ Tickle and Star of Suresh 10 ran
2010 The Quorn Cup was not held
2011 The Quorn Cup ($6,700) over 1900 metres was won Da Thong (7/2) trained by Paula Trenwith and ridden by Peter Roff, beating Mr Controller and Jewel King 9 ran
2012 The Quorn Cup ($8,750) over 1900 metres was won Stakhanovite (7/1) trained by Gary Searle and ridden by Melanie Tyndall, beating Pelekunu Valley and Kingnadim 9 ran
2013 The Quorn Cup ($8,750) over 1900 metres was won Pelekunu Valley (9/2) trained by Ron Campbell and ridden by Libby Hopwood, beating The Catcher and Noble Romp 8 ran
2014 The Quorn Cup ($8,750) over 1900 metres was won Magic Niello (85/40) trained by Rob Wilkinson and ridden by Rian Mageean, beating Joken Jim and Captain Percy 12 ran
2015 The Quorn Cup was not held
2016 The Quorn Cup was not held
2017 The Quorn Cup ($8,000) over 1900 metres was won Sassy Jo (4/5 fav) trained by Stephen Theodore and ridden by Krystal Bishop, beating Overstreet and Eigelstein 4 ran

Course today The racecourse continues to run successfully.
If you have photos, postcards, racecards. badges, newspaper cuttings or book references about the old course, or can provide a photo of how the ground on which the old racecourse stood looks today, then email johnwslusar@gmail.com

ISBN 978-0-9957632-0-3

652 pages

774 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-1-0

352 pages

400 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-2-7

180 pages

140 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-3-4

264 pages

235 former courses

Copies of the above books are only available by emailing johnwslusar@gmail.com stating your requirements, method of payment (cheque payable to W.Slusar) or Bank transfer, and the address where the book(s) should be sent.
Download an order form
  Quantity Cost
Volume 1 North of Hatfield £19.99 + £4 postage    
Volume 2 South of Hatfield £14.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 3 Wales & Scotland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 4 Ireland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volumes 1 - 4 £54.96 + £5 postage    
Postage & Packaging    
Email order form to johnwslusar@gmail.com