Pietermaritzburg 1937.JPG (8878 bytes) SCOTSVILLE RACECOURSE Pietermaritzburg 1963.JPG (9701 bytes)
The Scotsville Racecourse is based in Pietermaritzburg and it is known that the first meeting of the Pietermaritzburg Turf Club took place in 1844.
The principal races at the course are the 4 Group One races, the Golden Horse Casino Sprint, Gold Reef Resorts Medallion, the South African Fillies Sprint and the Allan Robertson Fillies Championship.


Pietermaritzberg 1951.JPG (12908 bytes)
The Golden Horse Casino Sprint over 1200 metres was first contested at Greyville in 1962 when won by Zealous. In 1982, and again in 1984, Dambuster was successful, while in 1999 and 2000 Jet Master gained back to back wins. In 2007 Kildonan proved to be successful.
  The Golden Reef Resorts Medallion was formerly known as the Smirnoff Plate when first contested in 1963. By 1989 it became the Smirnoff Futurity and just two years later the Smirnoff Sprint. In 2007 Seventh Rock was victorious.

It was in 1971 that the South African Fillies Sprint was run for the first time. In 2007 it was won by Ethereal Lady.

If you have badges, racecards, pictures of the racecourse or further details about the course, including your memories, then email johnslusar@fsmail.net