Sha Tin racecourse is situated in the New Territories and is managed by the Hong Kong Jockey Club.It opened its doors for the first time on 7th October 1978 and has two grandstands with a capacity to welcome up to 85,000 visitors.

Hong_Kong_1966_gents.JPG (13221 bytes)

The major races at the track include the Hong Kong Derby and Triple Crown, the Sha Tin Silver Jubilee Cup and the Sha Tin Sprint Trophy.

Hong Kong 1960.JPG (13980 bytes)Hong Kong 1966.JPG (25409 bytes)Hong Knog 1955.JPG (15043 bytes)

The Hong Kong Derby (first run in 1873) was run for the first time at Sha Tin in 1983 and was won by Co-Tack ridden by Tony Cruz. The latest running saw Tony Cruz the victorious trainer when saddling Helene Mascot to victory.

Hong Kong 1937.JPG (12399 bytes)Hong Kong 1956.JPG (24391 bytes)Hong_Kong_JC_1962.JPG (14337 bytes)

The Hong Kong Triple Crown consists of the Stewards Cup over 1600 metres run in January; the Gold Cup over 2000 metres run in February, and the Champions and Chater Cup over 2400 metres run in May.

The scans of the badges shown below are courtesy of Richard Gauthier from his magnificent collection of racecourse badges from around the world.
If you have badges, racecards, pictures of the racecourse or further details about the course, including your memories, then email
Hong Kong 1965.JPG (26149 bytes) Hong Kong 1954.JPG (27499 bytes) Hong Kong 1958.JPG (24433 bytes) Hong Kong 1967a.JPG (21149 bytes)