This site is not an official website for the track shown here and is neither approved or endorsed by the speedway team.

SP Farndon.JPG (17647 bytes)
Speedway has taken place at two separate venues in the Sheffield area, the first being in 1929. That first meeting took place at Owlerton Sports Stadium on the Penistone Road on 30th March 1929. It was watched by a crowd in excess of 15000 and proved to be a triumph for Clem Beckett who won the Golden Helmet.

The team rose through the various leagues, reaching British League Division One in 1968. By 1995 they reached the Premier League and have remained a prominent force ever since.

View an early programme

SP Kilmister.JPG (22032 bytes) SP Byers.JPG (21937 bytes)
SH1930.JPG (20752 bytes) They have won the Knockout Cup twice, in 1974 and 2002, and have been League Champions in 1999 and 2002. Sh1938.JPG (13110 bytes)
SP Dallison.JPG (24606 bytes) Greyhound racing first took place at Owlerton, Sheffield in 1932 and has witnessed some very good dogs throughout its history, not least Tric Trac and Spectre II who occupied the first and second spot in the English Greyhound Derby final of 1967. Naturally one of the most famous races to be run at the track is the Steel City cup over 500 metres after 1975 and over 550 yards prior to this date. SP D Case.JPG (24416 bytes)
Sh1947.JPG (13296 bytes) Throughout their time they have been known as the Tigers, the Tars and the Owlerton Prowlers. Sh1966.JPG (16399 bytes)
SP Key.JPG (26705 bytes) This section gives a comprehensive picture of the badges produced for the team throughout the ages, but only provides the briefest of glimpses of its history. For those wishing to undertake further research we can recommend a visit to


and for those wishing to read more widely we recommend a visit to

http://astore.amazon.co.uk/wwwgreyhoundd-21   especially

Complete History of the British League: Speedway

by Peter Oakes  ISBN-10: 0948882077

SP Milne.JPG (23608 bytes)
Sh1975.JPG (19187 bytes) To view a complete collection of badges choose the relevant link below:

1930-92    1993-2000

Sh1983.JPG (27349 bytes)
More detailed information is available from "Homes of British Speedway' by Robert Bamford & John Jarvis

If you have rare Sheffield Tigers badges or artefacts for sale then email johnslusar@fsmail.net orjocksomerville@gmail.com

1929 1930 1931
1932 1933 1938