Wellington BL.JPG (22428 bytes)

5 credits

TRENTHAM RACECOURSE (NZ) Masterton BL.JPG (20886 bytes)

2 credits

Wellington Racing Club hold their meetings at the Trentham Racecourse. The club was founded in 1854, but held its first meetings at Hutt Park and later on at Burnham Water.
Wellington 101.JPG (8290 bytes) The Wellington Cup was introduced in 1874 as a 12 furlong race when won by Castaway ridden by J.Cotton and owned by R.Campbell.. Cynisca gained a trio of wins from 1890 to 1892, whilst Great Sensation scored a sensational three victories from 1961 to 1963. Castletown also managed to win the race 3 times, firstly in 1991, then 1992 and then waited a year until the final victory in 1994. Wellington 1931.JPG (13127 bytes)
KIWI was a chestnut racehorse, foaled in 1977 in New Zealand by Blarneykiss and Malrayvis, and holds the distinction of being the only horse to have won the Wellington Cup (New Zealands most important race), and the Melbourne Cup (Australia's most important race). The horse began its racing career at Wanganui. He went on to land the Wellington Cup, by that stage extended to a 3200 metre race, in 1983 at Trentham. He then went on to land the Melbourne Cup over the same distance, 'flying home' in the straight.
Wellington 102.JPG (8617 bytes) The Cup race is held in late January and the 2009 winner on 24th January was the Trudy Thornton ridden Megapins who defeated Borninthestates.

Also at its January meeting it hosts New Zealands most valuable sprint race, the Group 1 Telegraph Handicap, as well as the Group 1 Thorndon Mile.

If you have badges, racecards, pictures of the racecourse or further details about the course, including your memories, then email johnslusar@fsmail.net