Aintree racecourse;Ascot;Ayr;Bangor;Bath;Beverley;Brighton;Carlisle;Cartmel;Catterick;Cheltenham Festival;Chepstow;Chester;Doncaster St Leger;Epsom Derby;Exeter racecourse;Fakenham;Folkestone;Fontwell Park;Glorious Goodwood;Hamilton Park;Haydock Park;Hereford Racecourse;Hexham;Huntingdon;Kelso;Kempton Park;Leicester;Lingfield;Ludlow;Market Rasen;Musselburgh;Newbury Racecourse;Newcastle;Newmarket;Newton Abbot;Nottingham;Perth;Plumpton;Pontefract Racecourse;Redcar;Ripon;Salisbury;Sandown Park;Sedgefield;Southwell;Stratford;Taunton;Thirsk;Towcester;Uttoxeter;Warwick;Wetherby;Wincanton;Windsor;Wolverhampton;Worcester;Yarmouth;York Ebor

The small farming community of Tullbigeal is located in the Central West region of New South Wales some 340 miles west of the state capital Sydney and 35 miles from its nearest neighbour Condobolin. Its name, taken from the Aborignial word meaning ‘acacia wooden spear’ reflects the previous inhabitants of the region. The village began to expand in the early 20th century when it enjoyed a rail link with the rest of the state in 1917, and the next year its Post Office opened. Even today the population of the village is less than 400, yet it still runs its own racecourse, where racing has been administered by the Tullbigeal Picnic Race Club since 2011. However, racing was staged in the village in the early years of the 20th century, beginning with a first class sports programme, which included racing, on Easter Monday 21st April 1924. The opening race over 5 furlongs was won by Ranch Boy, beating Jackarack and Trumper. However, the feature race of the meeting was the Tullibigeal Cup which saw Old Tully beat Ranch Boy and Trumper.

Local Patrons Tullbigeal Picnic Race Club, Tullibigeal All Heights Race Club
Principal Races Tullibigeal Cup, Tullibigeal Handicap

By the 1930s the Tullibigeal All Heights Race Club was organising extremely entertaining meetings, with possibly the most successful meeting taking place on Wednesday 17th August 1932 when a large crowd enjoyed a good card.
Wednesday 17th August 1932
Opening Handicap over 6 furlongs

1. Attraction (1/3 fav) ridden by Casey
2. Active Lad (2/1) ridden by Atkins
3. Red Ned (4/1) ridden by McCormick
4. Bonne Fille (2/1) ridden by McIntyre
Tullibigeal Handicap over 1 mile
1. Valbria (1/3 fav) ridden by J Crowe
2. Bluey (2/1) ridden by McCormick
3. Symphony (3/1) ridden by T Crowe

Racing traditionally takes place on the last Saturday in March when the highlight of its racing calendar, the Tullbigeal Picnic Cup over 1600 metres is staged.
Recent winners of the Tullbigeal Picnic Cup
(Full details of all winners are available on request)

2011 Tullbigeal Picnic Cup ($3,500) over 1550 metres was won by Future Voice (5/1) trained by Gary Colvin and ridden by Mr W Shimamura, beating Azarax and Poker Pro
2012 Tullbigeal Picnic Cup ($4,200) over 1550 metres was won by Poker Pro (5/1) trained by K R White and ridden by Myssa Burrells, beating Distinctly Sports and Old Mystique
2013 Tullbigeal Picnic Cup ($4,200) over 1600 metres was won by Dr Remlap (7/1) trained by Kylie Kennedy and ridden by Mr R Blewitt, beating Chiasma and Beer Gut
2014 Tullbigeal Picnic Cup ($4,200) over 1600 metres was won by Destiny’s Future (evens fav) beating Centabeel and Heartfelt
2015 Tullbigeal Picnic Cup ($4,200) over 1600 metres was won by Street Ride (9/4) trained by Gary Colvin and ridden by Tim Phillips, beating Daley ad Ritzy’s Boy 7 ran
2016 Tullbigeal Picnic Cup ($4,200) over 1600 metres was won by Sergeant Bilko (3/1) trained by Mark Cummins and ridden by Samara Johnson, beating Right of Reply and Exchancellor 6 ran
2017 Tullbigeal Picnic Cup ($4,140) over 1600 metres was won by Sergeant Bilko (7/1) trained by Mark Cummins and ridden by Simone Vella, beating Damysus and As Easy As 8 ran
2018 Tullbigeal Picnic Cup ($4,080) over 1600 metres was won by Dream On Stan (8/1) trained by Trevor Sutherland and ridden by Mr Michael Gray, beating Butterfly Sky and Sergeant Bilko 8 ran

Course today The racecourse continues to operate very successfully.
If you have photos, postcards, racecards. badges, newspaper cuttings or book references about the old course, or can provide a photo of how the ground on which the old racecourse stood looks today, then email johnwslusar@gmail.com

ISBN 978-0-9957632-0-3

652 pages

774 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-1-0

352 pages

400 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-2-7

180 pages

140 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-3-4

264 pages

235 former courses

Copies of the above books are only available by emailing johnwslusar@gmail.com stating your requirements, method of payment (cheque payable to W.Slusar) or Bank transfer, and the address where the book(s) should be sent.
Download an order form
  Quantity Cost
Volume 1 North of Hatfield £19.99 + £4 postage    
Volume 2 South of Hatfield £14.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 3 Wales & Scotland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 4 Ireland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volumes 1 - 4 £54.96 + £5 postage    
Postage & Packaging    
Email order form to johnwslusar@gmail.com