Aintree racecourse;Ascot;Ayr;Bangor;Bath;Beverley;Brighton;Carlisle;Cartmel;Catterick;Cheltenham Festival;Chepstow;Chester;Doncaster St Leger;Epsom Derby;Exeter racecourse;Fakenham;Folkestone;Fontwell Park;Glorious Goodwood;Hamilton Park;Haydock Park;Hereford Racecourse;Hexham;Huntingdon;Kelso;Kempton Park;Leicester;Lingfield;Ludlow;Market Rasen;Musselburgh;Newbury Racecourse;Newcastle;Newmarket;Newton Abbot;Nottingham;Perth;Plumpton;Pontefract Racecourse;Redcar;Ripon;Salisbury;Sandown Park;Sedgefield;Southwell;Stratford;Taunton;Thirsk;Towcester;Uttoxeter;Warwick;Wetherby;Wincanton;Windsor;Wolverhampton;Worcester;Yarmouth;York Ebor

The twin towns of Tuncurry and Forster are located in the Mid North Coast region of New South Wales about 190 miles north north east of the state capital Sydney. Tuncurry lies on the coast next to its larger neighbour and has a population of over 6,000 inhabitants, while Forster is slightly larger boasting a population of about 14,000. Although the region was originally inhabited by Aboriginal people, the earliest record of a white settler in Tuncurry was John Wright. Today the twin towns share a racecourse overseen by the Tuncurry-Forster Jockey Club which was founded in 1980 under its then President Rusty Begg, but which then took almost 30 years of hard work before it became the excellent racecourse it is today. The Jockey Club received its licence to stage race meetings on 1st October 2008, and held its inaugural meeting on 14th March 2009. Today the track is a vibrant, well-supported racecourse where the highlight of the racing calendar is the Tuncurry Gold Cup over 2100 metres traditionally staged on a Saturday in February.

Local Patrons Tuncurry-Forster Jockey Club
Principal Races Tuncurry Gold Cup

Recent winners of the Tuncurry Gold Cup
(Full details of all Cup races are available on request)

2009 Tuncurry Cup ($6,500) over 2100 metres was won by Ace Arena (6/1) trained by Ken Gaulds and ridden by Danny Pensley, beating Wannabe and Dunraven 7 ran
2010 Tuncurry Cup ($6,500) over 2100 metres was won by So Finer (13/8 fav) trained by Fred Cowell and ridden by A Robinson, beating King Lyphard and Pulse Maker 8 ran
2011 Tuncurry Cup ($6,500) over 2100 metres was won by Spike Spence (5/1) trained by Ken Faulds and ridden by Jessica Payne, beating Katobar and Magic Avon 9 ran
2012 Tuncurry Cup ($6,500) over 2100 metres was won by Bindifield (13/2) trained by Matthew Robinson and ridden by Marlon Dolendo, beating Kwilas Law and Deal for Real 10 ran
2013 Tuncurry Cup was not held
2014 Tuncurry Cup ($5,820) over 2100 metres was won by Xerxes Dream (8/1) trained by Michael O’Neill and ridden by Peter Graham, beating Malone and Roman Eagle 5 ran
2015 Tuncurry Cup ($5,820) over 2100 metres was won by Lucky Ima Cugat (100/30) trained by Steve Hodge and ridden by Alex Stokes, beating Butane and Pinot Gris 10 ran
2016 Tuncurry Cup ($5,535) over 2100 metres was won by Winter Reign (7/2) trained by Steve Hodge and ridden by Alex Stokes, beating Butane and Hundrez’n Thousanz 5 ran
2017 Tuncurry Cup ($16,630) over 2100 metres was won by Who Is Game (11/1) trained by Michael Byers and ridden by Grant Buckley, beating Douro and Olympic Academy 14 ran

Course today The racecourse continues to operate very successfully.
If you have photos, postcards, racecards. badges, newspaper cuttings or book references about the old course, or can provide a photo of how the ground on which the old racecourse stood looks today, then email johnwslusar@gmail.com

ISBN 978-0-9957632-0-3

652 pages

774 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-1-0

352 pages

400 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-2-7

180 pages

140 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-3-4

264 pages

235 former courses

Copies of the above books are only available by emailing johnwslusar@gmail.com stating your requirements, method of payment (cheque payable to W.Slusar) or Bank transfer, and the address where the book(s) should be sent.
Download an order form
  Quantity Cost
Volume 1 North of Hatfield £19.99 + £4 postage    
Volume 2 South of Hatfield £14.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 3 Wales & Scotland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 4 Ireland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volumes 1 - 4 £54.96 + £5 postage    
Postage & Packaging    
Email order form to johnwslusar@gmail.com