Aintree racecourse;Ascot;Ayr;Bangor;Bath;Beverley;Brighton;Carlisle;Cartmel;Catterick;Cheltenham Festival;Chepstow;Chester;Doncaster St Leger;Epsom Derby;Exeter racecourse;Fakenham;Folkestone;Fontwell Park;Glorious Goodwood;Hamilton Park;Haydock Park;Hereford Racecourse;Hexham;Huntingdon;Kelso;Kempton Park;Leicester;Lingfield;Ludlow;Market Rasen;Musselburgh;Newbury Racecourse;Newcastle;Newmarket;Newton Abbot;Nottingham;Perth;Plumpton;Pontefract Racecourse;Redcar;Ripon;Salisbury;Sandown Park;Sedgefield;Southwell;Stratford;Taunton;Thirsk;Towcester;Uttoxeter;Warwick;Wetherby;Wincanton;Windsor;Wolverhampton;Worcester;Yarmouth;York Ebor

The New South Wales town of Boggabri, on the Namoi River, is part of the Narrabri Shire in the north-west of the state. The name comes from the Gamilaraay word which translates as ‘having creeks’, and the town first began forming in 1830. It enjoys good transport links with its nearest neighbours Gunnedah and Narrabri via the Kamilaroi Highway and today has a population of about 900 inhabitants. Within the town and its surrounding region is Wean, a large property and estate which hosts the Wean Amateur Picnic Races annually. The Club, which is unique in bringing together ‘amateur racing enthusiasts who deliver a highly professional racing event’, held its inaugural meeting on Friday 5th May 1933 and has run successfully ever since, although racing did lapse during the War years from 1940 to 1945 inclusive.

Local Patrons Wean Amateur Picnic Race Club
Principal Races Wean Amateur Picnic Race Club Cup, Nandewar Bracelet, Penrhyn Stakes

Friday 5th May 1933
Wean Opening Handicap over 5 furlongs

1. Lord Montrose owned by Mr L L Alker and ridden by J Melville
2. Sir Edward ridden by Mr Kennedy
3. Grecian Lass ridden by Mr Quinlan
Curramunda Maiden over 4 furlongs
1. Lady Lava (2/1) owned by Mr J D Robinson and ridden by Mr Moore
2. Cumbil ridden by Mr Kennedy
3. Lady Munis ridden by Mr Thorley
Wean Picnic Race Cup over 6 furlongs
1. Ignore (3/1) owned by Mr Otto Baldwin and Mr Woolaston, and ridden by Mr Carter
2. Bunkum owned by Mr M Mackellar and ridden by Mr Quinlan
3. Lees Snowcap owned by Mr C Abbott and ridden by Mr Kennedy

The next year the meeting was staged on Wednesday 9th May 1934 when the Opening Handicap (5 furlongs) was won by Orleans Lad owned by Mr Mills, beating Take Care and Affection. The Penrhyn Stakes went to Chattie ridden by Kelly, at the expense of Mooning and Narara Lad, while the principal race, the Wean Picnic Race Cup was won by Mannaland ridden by Mr Nicholl, beating Freeland.

In the early 1950’s the main races were dominated by Mr I Christie and Mr Clarrie Carrigan. Mr I Christie won the prestigious Wean Picnic Race Club Cup in 1952 with Noogee, and again in 1954 with Port Action (7/1) when ridden by Mr T Smith. Another important race, the Nandewar Bracelet, was won 5 times by Mr Clarrie (Snow) Carrigan, three times with Tempest King and twice with Lord George.

The meeting, traditionally held on the first Saturday in July, features the Wean Picnic Cup over 1600 metres; some recent winners are shown below.
Recent winners of the Wean Picnic Cup
(A full list of winners is available on request)

2009 Wean Picnic Cup ($2,100) over 1600 metres was won by Peejaycee trained by Peter Cleal and ridden by Rebeka Prest, beating Nardoola Kid and Rocking On 6 ran
2010 Wean Picnic Cup ($2,100) over 1600 metres was won by War On Everything (5/4 fav) trained by Geoff O’Brien and ridden by Mr C Lundholm, beating Grafton and Peru
2011 Wean Picnic Cup ($2,100) over 1600 metres was won by Segovian (4/1) trained by Graham Shields and ridden by Ms J Lindgren, beating Tough Habit and War On Everything 6 ran
2012 Wean Picnic Cup ($2,800) over 1600 metres was won by Cabriole (5/2) trained by Robert Knight and ridden by Mr S Cole, beating Dandy Kat and Alshyma
2013 Wean Picnic Cup ($2,800) over 1600 metres was won by Saint Lenny (13/8) trained by Peter Sinclair and ridden by Mr R Blewitt, beating Dandy Kat and Lucky Hand 5 ran
2014 Wean Picnic Cup ($2,800) over 1600 metres was won by Dandy Kat (6/1) trained by Martin Fernando and ridden by Rebeka Prest, beating Crown Madica and Make Me Some 5 ran
2015 Wean Picnic Cup ($2,800) over 1600 metres was won by Blu Boy Jag (7/2) trained by Gavin Groth and ridden by Mr R Blewitt, beating One Double and World Spinning 6 ran
2016 Wean Picnic Cup was not contested
2017 Wean Picnic Cup ($2,800) over 1600 metres was won by Track Flash trained by Peter Sinclair and ridden by Mr R Blewitt, beating About Time and Medal of Glory 6 ran

Course today The racecourse continues to operate very successfully.
If you have photos, postcards, racecards. badges, newspaper cuttings or book references about the old course, or can provide a photo of how the ground on which the old racecourse stood looks today, then email johnwslusar@gmail.com

ISBN 978-0-9957632-0-3

652 pages

774 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-1-0

352 pages

400 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-2-7

180 pages

140 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-3-4

264 pages

235 former courses

Copies of the above books are only available by emailing johnwslusar@gmail.com stating your requirements, method of payment (cheque payable to W.Slusar) or Bank transfer, and the address where the book(s) should be sent.
Download an order form
  Quantity Cost
Volume 1 North of Hatfield £19.99 + £4 postage    
Volume 2 South of Hatfield £14.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 3 Wales & Scotland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 4 Ireland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volumes 1 - 4 £54.96 + £5 postage    
Postage & Packaging    
Email order form to johnwslusar@gmail.com