Aintree racecourse;Ascot;Ayr;Bangor;Bath;Beverley;Brighton;Carlisle;Cartmel;Catterick;Cheltenham Festival;Chepstow;Chester;Doncaster St Leger;Epsom Derby;Exeter racecourse;Fakenham;Folkestone;Fontwell Park;Glorious Goodwood;Hamilton Park;Haydock Park;Hereford Racecourse;Hexham;Huntingdon;Kelso;Kempton Park;Leicester;Lingfield;Ludlow;Market Rasen;Musselburgh;Newbury Racecourse;Newcastle;Newmarket;Newton Abbot;Nottingham;Perth;Plumpton;Pontefract Racecourse;Redcar;Ripon;Salisbury;Sandown Park;Sedgefield;Southwell;Stratford;Taunton;Thirsk;Towcester;Uttoxeter;Warwick;Wetherby;Wincanton;Windsor;Wolverhampton;Worcester;Yarmouth;York Ebor

Earliest meeting: Tuesday 25th June 1822
Final meeting: Tuesday 27th March 1871
The Woolwich Garrison had an abundant supply of good horses, capable riders and acres of ground on which to stage races, hosting its first race meeting in 1822. That meeting took place on Woolwich Common on Tuesday 25th June 1822 when the opening Plate saw Mr Percival’s Cardenio defeat Captain King’s Capulet. Future meetings always began with the Garrison Stakes which on Wednesday 11th June 1828 was won by Captain Sunder’s Countess, beating Frantic and Jane Grey.  However, It was not until 1841 that results were included in Baily's Racing Register, after which it was decided to make the fixture a permanent one. The opening race on Tuesday 5th October 1841 was the traditional Garrison Stakes which was won by Lieutenant Price on Abel, beating Wiltonia. Two years later a 2 day meeting was staged on Wednesday 13th and Thursday 14th September 1843 when the Woolwich Sweepstake was won appropriately enough by Captain Gambler on Tom Tug, and he was sufficiently versatile to capture the Hurdle race the next day on the same horse. The meeting on Tuesday 15th 1851 was held near the North Pavilion Tavern in North Woolwich on ‘a superior course of nearly 40 acres’, and the same course was used on Thursday 17th November 1853 when the Woolwich Sweepstake, over 1 ½ miles and 4 flights, went to Wild Boy owned by Captain Patton. Meetings continued to be held annually under rules until Tuesday 27th March 1871, with races after this date less regimented.

This racecourse is covered in Volume 2 of Racecourses Here Today and Gone Tomorrow. Ordering details shown below.
Local Patrons

Lord George Bentinck, Captain Price, Captain Willett, Officers of the Royal Artillery

Principal Races Garrison Stakes, Royal Artillery Scurry Stakes, Woolwich Plate, Garrison Stakes, Woolwich Hurdle, Theatrical Plate, Pedestrian Handicap, Scurry Stakes

Woolwich Plate
1. Unnamed filly by Octavius owned by Mr Farrall
2. Jobson owned by Mr Abbey
3. May-Fly owned by Mr Coleman

Tuesday 5th October 1841

The Garrison Stakes over 1 ½ miles
1. Abel owned by Lieut. Price
2. Wiltona owned by Lieut. Gambier
3. Ada owned by Lieut. Montressor

Woolwich Hurdle Race over 1 ¾ miles
1. Syntax owned by Lieut. Cocks

The Theatrical Plate over 1 ½ miles
1. Abel owned by Lieut. Price
2. Norgrove owned by Captain E.Warde

The Pedestrian Handicap over a mile
1. Wiltona owned by Lieut. Gambier
2. Syntax owned by Lieut. Cocks
3. Ada owned by Lieut. Montressor

The Scurry Stakes over 6 furlongs
1. Azalia owned by Captain E.Warde.

Thursday 17th November 1853
Royal Artillery Scurry Stakes
1. Timothy, bay gelding owned by Captain Adye
2. Wild Bess, brown mare owned by Captain Patton
3. Jacko, bay gelding owned by Captain Field

The final meeting took place on Tuesday 27th March 1871.
Course today Spread over 40 acres near the Pavilion Tavern in North Woolwich.
If you have photos, postcards, racecards. badges, newspaper cuttings or book references about the old course, or can provide a photo of how the ground on which the old racecourse stood looks today, then email johnwslusar@gmail.com

Much of the information about this course has been found using internet research and is in the public domain. However, useful research sources have been:-

Northern Turf History Volumes 1-4 by J.Fairfax-Blakeborough

The Sporting Magazine

A Long Time Gone by Chris Pitt first published in 1996 ISBN 0 900599 89 8

Racing Calendars which were first published in 1727

ISBN 978-0-9957632-0-3

652 pages

774 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-1-0

352 pages

400 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-2-7

180 pages

140 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-3-4

264 pages

235 former courses

Copies of the above books are only available by emailing johnwslusar@gmail.com stating your requirements, method of payment (cheque payable to W.Slusar) or Bank transfer, and the address where the book(s) should be sent.
Download an order form
  Quantity Cost
Volume 1 North of Hatfield £19.99 + £4 postage    
Volume 2 South of Hatfield £14.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 3 Wales & Scotland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 4 Ireland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volumes 1 - 4 £54.96 + £5 postage    
Postage & Packaging    
Email order form to johnwslusar@gmail.com