Aintree racecourse;Ascot;Ayr;Bangor;Bath;Beverley;Brighton;Carlisle;Cartmel;Catterick;Cheltenham Festival;Chepstow;Chester;Doncaster St Leger;Epsom Derby;Exeter racecourse;Fakenham;Folkestone;Fontwell Park;Glorious Goodwood;Hamilton Park;Haydock Park;Hereford Racecourse;Hexham;Huntingdon;Kelso;Kempton Park;Leicester;Lingfield;Ludlow;Market Rasen;Musselburgh;Newbury Racecourse;Newcastle;Newmarket;Newton Abbot;Nottingham;Perth;Plumpton;Pontefract Racecourse;Redcar;Ripon;Salisbury;Sandown Park;Sedgefield;Southwell;Stratford;Taunton;Thirsk;Towcester;Uttoxeter;Warwick;Wetherby;Wincanton;Windsor;Wolverhampton;Worcester;Yarmouth;York Ebor

The New South Wales town of Young lies on the South West Slopes of the state and enjoys good transport links with the rest of the country, being on the Olympic Highway which means it is less than a 2 hour drive to the capital Canberra. The region was originally inhabited by the Wiradjuri people prior to the first European settlers arriving in 1826 when James White established his Burrangong Station in 1826. The town developed rapidly in the mid-1860s and is named after Sir John Young, a governor of the state. The earliest record of racing in the town was in the 1870s when a two-day meeting was staged on Thursday and Friday 21st and 22nd April 1870. The main races were the Burrangong Turf Club Handicap which saw Aruna defeat Snowdrift and Ely, and the Member’s Plate in which Kaffir got the better of Pasha and Hector. The next year a meeting was held on Saturday 22nd April 1871, with principal results shown below:-

Local Patrons Young Turf Club, Burrangong Turf Club
Principal Races Burrangong Turf Club Handicap

Saturday 22nd April 1871
Burrangong Turf Club Handicap over 2 miles and the distance

1. Silverstain owned by Mr Battye
2. Lieutenant owned by Mr Battye
3. Aruma owned by Mr Iliffe
Young Member’s Purse over a mile and the distance
1. Warringal
1. Quondong
There was a dead-heat in this race which was not then re-run.
Forced Handicap over 1 ½ miles
1. Banjo owned by Mr Hill
2. Aruma owned by Mr Iliffe
3. Lieutenant owned by Mr Battye

Today the town also enjoys the benefit of its own Toompang Racecourse, located about 3 miles from the town centre, where racing is generally staged twice a year. The Young Turf Club holds its annual meeting on the third Saturday in May when the highlight of the card is the Young Cup over 1600 metres.
Recent winners of the Young Cup
(A full list of winners is available on request)

2011 Young Cup ($5,250) over 1600 metres was won by Tha’hab (11/4) trained by Tricia Anderson and ridden by Andrew Bloomfield, beating Celtic Soul and Soswarj 10 ran
2012 Young Cup ($5,250) over 1600 metres was won by Sonro (5/4 fav) trained by Gino D’Altorio and ridden by Nicole Vuille, beating Poker Pro and Capriev 9 ran
2013 Young Cup ($5,820) over 1600 metres was won by Marwishuponastar (9/1) trained by Kerry Weir and ridden by Carl Spry, beating Sonro and The Ringleader 8 ran
2014 Young Cup ($5,180) over 1600 metres was won by Tea Clipper (7/1) trained by Kerry Weir and ridden by Simon Miller, beating Street Ride and Yet Tobe Convinced 10 ran
2015 Young Cup ($5,180) over 1600 metres was won by Zarreig (2/1) trained by Peter Clancy and ridden by John Kissick, beating Easiestgameonearth and Opoho 8 ran
2016 Young Cup ($5,180) over 1600 metres was won by Sand Dune (3/1) trained by Kerry Weir and ridden by Megan Taylor, beating Asunder and Exchancellor 8 ran
2017 Young Cup ($5,260) over 1600 metres was won by Go Get ‘em (4/1) trained by Kerry Weir and ridden by Megan Taylor, beating Damysus and Lady Jesse 9 ran

Course today The racecourse continues to operate very successfully.
If you have photos, postcards, racecards. badges, newspaper cuttings or book references about the old course, or can provide a photo of how the ground on which the old racecourse stood looks today, then email

ISBN 978-0-9957632-0-3

652 pages

774 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-1-0

352 pages

400 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-2-7

180 pages

140 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-3-4

264 pages

235 former courses

Copies of the above books are only available by emailing stating your requirements, method of payment (cheque payable to W.Slusar) or Bank transfer, and the address where the book(s) should be sent.
Download an order form
  Quantity Cost
Volume 1 North of Hatfield £19.99 + £4 postage    
Volume 2 South of Hatfield £14.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 3 Wales & Scotland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 4 Ireland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volumes 1 - 4 £54.96 + £5 postage    
Postage & Packaging    
Email order form to