The Camperdown Racecourse is situated on the Lismore Road in Camperdown and can trace racing back to 1885. In those early days it was organised by the Hampden Race Club but by 1886 the Camperdown Turf Club was founded. That inaugural meeting of members took place in March 1886, but the first race meeting was New Years Day 1887.
  The club was one of the first to build a permanent iron grandstand which is still used to this day and 'echoes the design style popular in Australia at the time'. Earlier grandstands had been built in 1886 and 1888 but Michael McCabe was commissioned to build the glorious permanent one.


As was customary with very rural tracks, the Camperdown Racecourse suffered financial pressures and, at one stage, in the early 1980's seemed destined to close. The locals rallied and the course was saved.
  The principal race is the Camperdown Cup which, in 1930, was won by Gleamlight. In the 2009 running on 17th January it was Kincharm who prevailed for Jade Darose.


If you have badges, racecards, pictures of the racecourse or further details about the course, including your memories, then email