Australian Capital Territory 1964.JPG (21622 bytes) CANBERRA RACECOURSE Canberra 1981a.JPG (17090 bytes)

 Australian Capital Territory racings princiapl club is Canberra Race Club which administers racing at Thoroughbred Park.


  The principal races held at the course are the Black Opal Stakes, held in March, and the Canberra Cup in October.


The Canberra Cup is run over 2000 metres and the inaugural running was in 1926 when won by Spec who repeated the success the next year.
  In 1961, and again in 1962, Crazy Notion gained back to back wins, as did Beingard in 1985 and 86. The most recent 2008 winner was Elegance.


If you have badges, racecards, pictures of the racecourse or further details about the course, including your memories, then email