Situated on the island of Singapore is the racecourse at Kranji. Racing has taken place on the island since 1842 when the Singapore Sporting Club was founded. The first meeting is known to have taken place on 23rd February of that year for a purse of 150 Singapore dollars. Some time later, in 1896, the administration of racing on the isalnd was taken over by its near neighbour the Malayan Racing Association, then known as Straits Racing Association. The course then moved to Bukit Timah and eventually in 2000 Kranji racecourse was opened to become the only racecourse on the island.
Singapore 1939.JPG (9475 bytes) Singapore_1948.JPG (14662 bytes) Singapore_1960.JPG (10418 bytes) Singapore 1969.JPG (10094 bytes)
Its principal races are the Singapore Airlines International Cup and the Singapore Gold Cup. The Singapore Gold Cup is run over 2200 metres and was run for the first time in 1924 when won by Thelasocrete. Three Rings completed a natable double for trainer J R Rodgers in 1956 and 1957, whilst Grenadier did the same for R Van Breukelen in 1965 and 1966. The most recent 2008 winner was El Dorado.
Singapore 1956a.JPG (8287 bytes) Singapore 1956b.JPG (6443 bytes)
The Singapore Airlines International Cup run over 2000 metres was first run in 2000 and won by Ouzo. Luca Cumani trained the 2001 winner Endless Hall. More recently the 2008 winner was Jay Peg.
If you have badges, racecards, pictures of the racecourse or further details about the course, including your memories, then email